What is DUI Bail?

A Man Being Arrested for DUI.

What is a DUI bail?

As with other criminal offenses, if you’ve been arrested and jailed for DUI, a judge will set a bail amount that must be paid for your release. Normatly, to be released, you either have to pay the full bail amount in cash or you have to reach out to a bail bonds service, pay a fee—usually about 10% of the bail amount—for the bond service to help get you out. You also have to promise to appear for all court dates. Failure to do so could lead to your arrest.

DUI is a serious offense, but if you need DUI bail in Roseville, CA, Cut Loose Bail Bonds can help get you released so you can get started on your case. We can be reached 24 hour a day, 7 days a week by calling 916-663-2245.

How much is bail for a DUI?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you may wonder, “How much is DUI Bail?” Amounts for DUI bail in California will vary depending on the court and the county, as they will for other offenses. On average, for a standard DUI in which no one was injured or no property was damaged will range from $5,000 to $10,000. The bail amount may be affected by circumstances such as prior criminal history and your overall reputation in the community. 

Prior criminal history, especially DUI convictions, will also affect the bail amount. For instance, if you’ve been charged for a third DUI, you may wonder, “How much is bail for a 3rd DUI?” Again, the bail amounts will vary, but the average bail is around $7,300. In some cases, bail may not be granted and you will have to remain in jail. This may especially be the case if you’ve had convictions prior offenses, felonies in particular.

Of course, DUI laws vary from state to state, and bail amounts will also vary. If you need DUI bail bonds in Louisiana, for instance, you may pay a different amount than you might in California. 

How long do you have to stay in jail for a DUI?

If you are convicted of a DUI, you may spend time in jail, even for a misdemeanor first offense, which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in county jail. A second offense can get you a maximum of 1 year in county jail, while a third offense can land you between 120 days and 1 year in jail. A fourth offense can be bumped up to a felony charge and you can receive a minimum sentence of 16 months in county jail or in state prison. Three years is the maximum sentence for a fourth offense.  

Penalties and jail time may vary depending on various circumstances. You’ll likely get a longer jail sentence even for a first offense if your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, was 0.15% or higher,if you refused to submit to a chemical test, caused an accident, drove at excessive speeds. You are also likely to stay in jail longer if you had children under 14 in the car at the time or you were under 21 when the offense was committed.

Do you have to post bail for DUI?

On October 1, 2019, bail laws will change in California. A DUI without bail will be entirely possible under these new state laws. After the laws go into effect no monetary amount will be set as bail for a misdemeanor DUI charge. Instead, the courts will determine whether they should detain you or release you on your own recognizance. You still must make a promise to appear in court. The exceptions to this no bail law is if you are arrested for a third offense within 10 years of your last DUI, or you caused injury to someone else, or your BAC was 0.20% or more.

Can a DUI bail be dropped?

As noted above bail laws will change in California on October 1, 2019, and most DUIs will be released on their own recognizance by the courts. Until then, if you or your family member cannot afford to pay bail, there are circumstances in which the bail could be dropped or lowered.

Reasons why DUI bail would be dropped or lowered:

  • You can ask the judge to lower the amount of bail, if it is too high for you to pay.
  • You can ask the judge to reconsider if bail was denied.
  • You can ask the judge to release you on your own recognizance.

The courts have the final word on whether to drop the bail or not,or grant any of your requests. Whether bail was dropped, lowered or paid, if you are still responsible for making it to your assigned court date, although in California your attorney can appear for you.

Call Today

If you have been arrested and need help paying DUI bail in Roseville, CA, or bail for any offense, call the professionals at Cut Loose Bail Bonds for help. We can be reached 24/7 at 916-663-2245.