There’s a difference between assault and battery when it comes to the law. In California, assault is defined as an intentional attempt to physically injure another person. It can also refer to a menacing or threatening act that makes a person believe he or she is under attack — but “assault”, in this case, doesn’t include actual physical contact. Battery, on the other hand, is “the intentional and unlawful use of force or violence against another.” Assault and battery with a deadly weapon are both considered felonies. However, in some cases (not involving a deadly weapon), a felony assault or battery charge could be lowered to a misdemeanor during court proceedings. If you or someone you know is needing battery or assault bail in Sacramento, CA call Cut Loose Bail Bonds at 916-663-2245 . We’re here to help get you on your feet again after an assault charge has been filed.
Assault vs. Battery: What You Need to Know
There are many variables involved when it comes to an assault or battery charge in California. For example, you could be facing a more severe punishment if you’re convicted of assault or battery against a healthcare provider or a public worker such as a firefighter or highway employee, assuming they were on duty at the time of the incident.
“Wobbler” assaults are offenses that could be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor. They can include assault against a corrections officer, assault against a school district police officer, or assault against a juror or alternate juror by a party in the case. The identity of the victim in the could also affect the amount of the assault bail. The same general rules apply for battery charges; the identity of the victim can carry weight when it comes to how severe the punishment is.
Penalties for simple assault in Sacramento, CA could start at six months in jail, fines of at least $1,000 and probation. As for simple battery, the penalties start at six months in jail, fine of up to $2,000 and six months of probation. But that’s just the minimum for both; if, say, you’re convicted of battery against a police officer who was on duty at the time, you could be facing three years in jail or state prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you or someone you know needs help with battery or assault bail in Sacramento, CA, we’re the team to call! We’ve helped many people in your shoes who have dealt with a battery or assault charge. Contact us immediately at 916-663-2245